Hyogo Framework

The World Conference on Disaster Reduction held from 18 to 22 January 2005 in Kobe, Hyogo, Japan, adopted a framework, generally referred to as the Hyogo Framework for Action 2005-2015: Building the Resilience of Nations and Communities to Disasters. It emphasized the need for, and identified ways of, building the resilience of nations and communities to disasters.

According to the Hyogo Framework, the five main thematic areas relating to resilience and disaster risk reduction (DRR) are: 

  1. Governance
  2. Risk Assessment
  3. Knowledge and Education
  4. Risk Management and Vulnerability reduction
  5. Disaster Preparedness and Response